Estonian Amateur Open winners: Varjun and Silcenko

Foto: Allan Mehik

The Estonian Amateur Open by Tallink, which lasted for three days at Saaremaa Golf & Country Club, ended today. Markus Varjun (Niitvälja Golfiklubi) took home first place in the men’s division with rounds of 74, 69 and 74 (+1 in total). Richard Teder (Estonian Golf & Country Club) took second place with a good third round of 75, 75 and 72 (+6). Third place went to Lithuania’s Giedrius Mackelis (European Centre Golf Club) with scores of 76, 72 and 75. Ralf Johan Kivi (Niitvälja Golfiklubi) from Estonia also had the same score of +7, but according to the rules, the Lithuanian player’s score on the last two days was only one stroke better, which was the deciding factor. Results 

In the end, the victory in the women’s class went to Marta Silcenko (Ozo Golf Club), who finished the three days with a score of +6 (77, 72, 73). Runner-up this time was last years winner Elizaveta Sofia Reemet (Estonian Golf & Country Club). Her rounds were 76, 73 and 80. Third place went to Hannah Õunap (Valgeranna Golfiklubi) with 79, 78, 80. Results 

The Mid-Amateur special prizes were awarded to Nikolajs Kenins (Ozo Golf Club) and Anneli Esken (Estonian Golf & Country Club). Esken was also awarded the special prize in the women’s seniors class. The winner of the men’s senior special award was Andrew Darlington (Vuosaari Golf Helsinki).

Fotos: Allan Mehik

See also the gallery of all three days

Winners’ commentary after the competition (Markus Varjun’s with subtitles):